Merry Forums of My Merry Christmas

Merry Forums of My Merry Christmas (http://mymerrychristmas.com/forum/index.php)
-   Introductions (http://mymerrychristmas.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Families and Christmas (http://mymerrychristmas.com/forum/showthread.php?t=49664)

linni54 12-30-2012 11:51 AM

Families and Christmas

Hi Everyone

I'm linni and am from the UK. I work as a school administrator, and am a very mature student of social work, going into my second year. I know I'm veering on the mad side!

I hope you all enjoyed a Christmas that means a lot to you. For me, it was a topsy turvy one, but then the year has been a topsy turvy one! During the festive season friends and I got talking about what Christmas means to us all. For most it is the gathering of family and friends, whether at home or away.

For us, we are just a threesome, myself, husband and son who is 24. We used to have Christmas at home until he was 8 and then we started travelling at Christmas time, mainly through the United States, but have been in othe places too, such as South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

I am an only child and son is an only child. There is always pressure because of being that only child. They say what goes round comes round and it certainly did for me this year. When I was my son's age I spent a Christmas in Greece, when I was working out there, and another time in Austria with a boyfriend. You can imagine that my parents' upset that there only child wasn't with them over Christmas.