Countdown to Christmas --
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Sequel To "A Christmas Carol"

Discussion in 'Christmas Literature' started by Todd Trumpet, Nov 7, 2016.

1. Todd Trumpet

Todd Trumpet Merry Forums Newbie MMC Member

Hello, everyone:

I'm new to the "My Merry Christmas" forums, but I've been delighted to see that there is an active sub-forum for "Christmas Literature" here. You see, I'm a writer, and I've spent the last year working on a sequel to my favorite holiday tale of all time, "A Christmas Carol".

But before I get into that (and a little more about myself) let me say, up front, that, while it is my intention to offer a free copy of my novella to all readers of the "My Merry Christmas" forums, I am aware of the potential issue of spam. In other words, I'm not sure if this the proper place or way to go about doing this, and if not, the moderators are, of course, free to move, edit, or delete my post as they see fit. But my hope is not just to give away my novella here, but to monitor this thread and possibly interact with anyone who wishes to discuss it, including the influences of Dickens' original work upon mine, as well as his contribution to our modern day Christmas.

With that said, allow me to begin my "Great Exhibition":

There have been, of course, many sequels already written to "A Christmas Carol". It's probably best I didn't know this when I started! I am certainly aware of it now, though my informal survey shows that these have mostly taken a different tack than mine. There are sequels that follow the characters over many future years, and often not kindly; sequels that turn supporting characters into protagonists (Tiny Tim, Jacob Marley); and many, many sequels that violate Dickens own instruction in the final paragraph of "A Christmas Carol" that clearly states, "[Scrooge] had no further intercourse with spirits."