Members Area
Countdown to Christmas --
Visit My Merry Christmas on Facebook!   Visit My Merry Christmas on Twitter!   Get My Merry Christmas on RSS
Navigation » Merry Forums of My Merry Christmas > Christmas Library > Index > Christmas Culture > Christmas Literature » Book Review: Good King Wenceslas

My Merry Christmas Announcement

Home Submit Article New in the Library What's Popular Search

» What's New
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by holidaycraze12
05-24-2014 11:22 PM
29,080 Views  5 Posts
santahat The Real History of the...
by MMC Editor
10-24-2013 12:44 PM
25,651 Views  0 Posts
santahat The Mistletoe Bough...
by MMC Editor
10-17-2013 06:19 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:04 AM
36,218 Views
2 Posts
Christmas Tree A Christmas Tree for Cats
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 08:21 AM
40,735 Views  0 Posts
Christmas Tree The Birds' Christmas...
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 06:59 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:12 AM
40,996 Views  1 Posts
» Random Entries
Christmas Baby
by MMC Editor
05-31-2002 09:01 PM
41,568 Views  0 Posts
Christmas Cards
by MMC Editor
06-08-2002 09:21 PM
51,559 Views  0 Posts
Christmas in Colonial...
by MMC Editor
05-30-2002 03:30 PM
55,538 Views
0 Posts
Emily's Highest Bough
by MMC Editor
05-30-2002 03:47 PM
44,387 Views  0 Posts
Who Put the X in...
by MMC Editor
06-22-2010 10:45 PM
54,880 Views
0 Posts
Book Review: Good King Wenceslas
Report to Moderator Old 10-29-2012 12:50 AM
MMC Editor
 
Views: 86,971
Replies: 0
By James Keefe


If you're like most people chances are you have heard the annual holiday reference to Good King Wenceslas but you have never quite understood his story or what it has to do with Christmas.

Out now from Deseret Book.com is a new illustrated children's volume that beautifully tells the story in word and picture and includes a DVD copy of the narration of the story supplied by actress Jane Seymour, who performed the narration set to stunning music and dance as part of the annual Christmas Concert of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra at Temple Square in 2011.

The story tells of a good king who set out on a snowy Christmas with his faithful page to deliver food, wood and comfort to a poor peasant family.

The Good King's desire is for all in his kingdom to enjoy a bounteous Christmas but most of all he hopes that by following in the King's footsteps his faithful page will come to learn the value of sacrifice and giving.

Interwoven into the story line are the words to the Christmas carol "Good King Wenceslas". The brilliant combination of festive illustration, lyrics and the story combine to make a memorable Christmas experience in print.

This book is a must-have for any serious Christmas storyteller and belongs along side the classics of Christmas shared with our children each season. The story is a quick read and carries our highest recommendation.

The music and words come together wonderfully in the companion DVD bonus that is part of the book, a preview of which is provided below.

__________________
This article is copyrighted. Use of this article in part or whole is strictly prohibited. For reprint, quotation, or excerpt use please contact Merry Network LLC.



Tags: Good King Wenceslas
Send to Friend

Rate Article:



 
Category Jump
» Featured
Top Ten Christmas Videos...
by Jeff Westover
12-16-2013 08:10 AM
15,318 Views  0 Posts
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by holidaycraze12
05-24-2014 11:22 PM
29,080 Views  5 Posts
Annual Survey of...
by MMC Editor
09-16-2013 08:19 AM
Last post by icetene33
10-21-2013 04:04 PM
20,801 Views  2 Posts
Snowman2 Top Five Christmas Hoaxes
by MMC Editor
09-09-2013 02:14 PM
26,816 Views  0 Posts
stocking Santa Smoking: Why is...
by Jeff Westover
10-11-2012 08:10 AM
Last post by HollyJolly
09-02-2013 08:30 AM
44,598 Views  6 Posts
» Recent Comments
Christmas Vacation (Movie Review)
One of the best.
by Alnagon on 08-19-2014 10:38 PM
Year Round Christmas Music or Seasonal Only?
I vote for half a year. I get too depressed after Christmas to keep the music going, so I take a break from it, but always come back in the summer as I start gearing up for the next season. Like...
by MarthaK on 08-12-2014 10:02 AM
Year Round Christmas Music or Seasonal Only?
I listen to Christmas music year-round. Not every day, but here and there when the mood strikes me. It lifts my spirits and makes me happy....nothing wrong with that. I've just never understood...
by Ddeby on 08-12-2014 09:11 AM
How does Santa get down the chminey?
How will he enter the house if someone don't have chimney or fireplace??
by RDxmas on 07-07-2014 09:56 AM
Remember when Black Friday was on Friday?
I get annoyed when sales for black Friday start on thanksgiving. It's called black Friday not black Thursday.
by holidaycraze12 on 05-24-2014 11:22 PM
» Christmas Library Stats
Christmas Library Statistics Categories: 30, Articles: 337, Posts: 138, Total Views 17,924,748