Members Area
Countdown to Christmas --
Visit My Merry Christmas on Facebook!   Visit My Merry Christmas on Twitter!   Get My Merry Christmas on RSS

Home Submit Article New in the Library What's Popular Search

» What's New
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by thechristmasmusicman
01-27-2014 10:42 AM
18,397 Views  4 Posts
santahat The Real History of the...
by MMC Editor
10-24-2013 12:44 PM
16,501 Views  0 Posts
santahat The Mistletoe Bough...
by MMC Editor
10-17-2013 06:19 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:04 AM
15,884 Views
2 Posts
Christmas Tree A Christmas Tree for Cats
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 08:21 AM
19,586 Views  0 Posts
Christmas Tree The Birds' Christmas...
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 06:59 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:12 AM
21,536 Views  1 Posts
» Random Entries
Tree Decorating
by MMC Editor
06-08-2002 09:18 PM
Last post by molepomandmistletoe
07-21-2013 10:44 AM
49,812 Views
1 Posts
Anna Claus
by MMC Editor
06-09-2002 08:15 PM
76,241 Views  0 Posts
The Christmas Feast
by MMC Editor
06-08-2002 09:24 PM
51,066 Views
0 Posts
Xtree1 Saying No to Black Friday
by MMC Editor
10-19-2011 07:05 AM
Last post by sprinkleshouse
07-28-2013 02:25 PM
52,896 Views  5 Posts
O Holy Night
by MMC Editor
06-09-2002 08:20 PM
60,894 Views  0 Posts
Elf (Movie Review)
Report to Moderator Old 06-09-2011 09:23 PM
MMC Editor
 
Views: 61,245
Replies: 3
By B. Francis Morlan



Every holiday season there seems to be a new attempt at making another holiday movie classic. Few ever succeed. This year's entry is a whimsical tale called Elf, starring Will Ferrell as Buddy the elf.

Buddy is technically not an elf. He is an orphaned baby who somehow finds his way out of his crib and into Santa's sack his first Christmas. Santa, played by Ed Asner, unknowingly takes Buddy back to the North Pole and he decides to keep him. Why Santa doesn't decide to raise Buddy himself is never really explained. Instead he is raised by a bachelor elf played by none other than Bob Newhart.

Buddy, of course, grows up somewhat abnormal in the elf world. He's big and he just doesn't quite get the hang of being an elf. Finally the truth surfaces and he embarks on the adventure of his life to New York City to find his biological father.

When you consider all the possibilities, this should have been a classic. Lou Grant as Santa Claus? Priceless. Bob Newhart as an elf? Oh, the delicious possibilities. Will Ferrell as a goofy orphan? Stop, you're killing me. But in the unsolicited words of a 9-year-old stranger I followed out of the theater, "it's crap". The premise -- tired and predictable though it is -- is enough to tell a good story. But this film never quite gets there.

What makes this movie all the more painful to watch though are the great lengths the makers go to in re-creating magic from the large and small screen of Christmases past. Buddy's life at the North Pole is taken right out of the "Santa Claus is Coming to Town" Rankin and Bass classic of the 1960s. Elves who sing, wear pointy hats and talk in squeaky voices all look the part. The Burl Ives-esque snowman who befriends Buddy looks like he's ready to pitch a Norelco at any moment. Clearly the makers of this film did their homework.

But the makers are banking on pure nostalgia, sight gags and an incredibly weak story and script to endear viewers. None of it works.

Plainly speaking, Buddy is an idiot. Oh, he can rebuild a complex jet engine that Santa inexplicably has to have attached to the bottom of his sleigh but he can't avoid trashing a fake Santa in a department store. Buddy longs to find his biological father -- but he cannot eat anything without drowning it in maple syrup and marshmallows. Scenes of Will Ferrell choking down syrup laced spaghetti and letting out extended belches hardly classifies this as a holiday classic.

Buddy does find his father, played by fairly straight by James Caan, and endears himself to just about everyone except the old man. I won't bore you with the predictable details of the inattentive-father angle played by the writers but let it suffice to say that this movie proves that James Caan isn't funny, Mary Steenburgen can't sing and Will Ferrell isn't stretching much to play a clueless elf. The film relies on tried and true formulas so prevalent in modern holiday tales: all parents are dumb, only kids believe in Santa, the police are the bad guys, and the mystical "Christmas spirit" rules the outcome of any story. If this film had any original thought they went to great lengths to hide it.

The obligatory love story -- so central to these weak attempts in new holiday movies -- never gets off the ground. Buddy spends a very short time working as an elf, of all things, at a department store. There he meets a sweet singing sourpuss played by Zooey Deschanel. What she sees in the silly galoot is anyone's guess but by the end of the movie they end up locking lips. They aren't exactly George and Mary Bailey.

Elf will never be a holiday classic. Will Ferrell isn't really to blame -- either he was paid to play himself or they dramatically altered the script to fit his particular brand of slapstick. There are flashes of hope when he sings an unintentional duet with Deschanel and when he comes to work at the office with his biological father. But the short jokes aimed at a midget who he mistakes as an elf are lame and the fact that the only person he ever really irritates in New York City is James Caan makes this more of a farce than fantasy.

I had no expectations for this movie based upon the advance previews I had seen. Nevertheless I was disappointed in that the film was worse that I feared it would be.

Santa Claus, the elves, the North Pole, etc are all revered symbols of the season. It offends me that today's Hollywood movie makers can't adequately convey humor and respect in the same effort. The story could have been a lot more fun and may have even packed an emotional wallop if some consideration was given to even a basic seasonal message. But the season depicted here is merely a backdrop. It is something to play against, to mock and to tease. Christmas is shallow enough in the real world. Why promote that in a movie?
__________________
This article is copyrighted. Use of this article in part or whole is strictly prohibited. For reprint, quotation, or excerpt use please contact Merry Network LLC.



Tags: Elf
Send to Friend

Rate Article:


Replies to Article: Elf (Movie Review)
  #1   Report Post  
Old 10-30-2013, 03:47 AM
Virginia's Avatar
Virginia Virginia is offline
Christmas Deity
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 19,871
Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia Virginia
Re: Elf (Movie Review)

I was not a fan at all. I wonder if it would have been better with another lead actor. I have only watched this movie in its entirety because of the theme but I have never managed to get through any other of Will's movies. Probably because they test the boundaries of propriety, making me cringe as I wait for a punchline. Ferrell by name and feral in movies. Oh, I lied... I went to the movies to watch Bewitched because I am a fan of the original series... swore never to waste money on another movie with Ferrell in it.
  #2   Report Post  
Old 11-11-2013, 09:16 PM
caninemomssister's Avatar
caninemomssister caninemomssister is offline
Merry Forums Twinkle Light Checker
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 96
caninemomssister caninemomssister
Re: Elf (Movie Review)

I agree. I am not a fan of "over the top" movies.
  #3   Report Post  
Old 11-18-2013, 07:29 AM
Joyfully yours's Avatar
Joyfully yours Joyfully yours is offline
Merry Forums Elf, 1st Class
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
Posts: 511
Joyfully yours Joyfully yours Joyfully yours Joyfully yours
Snowflake Re: Elf (Movie Review)


Dear Virginia, oh how I agree with you 100%! This guy just shreds my nervous system! I don't care for him in anything!
Just too....too.....over the top for me, no matter what he acts in.
I also saw "Bewitched" with Nicole Kidman, and I liked it because I had concentrated on Kidman, instead of Farrell.
Now she is an actress!!!
Have a great day Virginia and thanks for the review!
Later......


__________________























 
Category Jump
» Featured
Top Ten Christmas Videos...
by Jeff Westover
12-16-2013 08:10 AM
14,037 Views  0 Posts
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by thechristmasmusicman
01-27-2014 10:42 AM
18,397 Views  4 Posts
Annual Survey of...
by MMC Editor
09-16-2013 08:19 AM
Last post by icetene33
10-21-2013 04:04 PM
19,311 Views  2 Posts
Snowman2 Top Five Christmas Hoaxes
by MMC Editor
09-09-2013 02:14 PM
23,963 Views  0 Posts
stocking Santa Smoking: Why is...
by Jeff Westover
10-11-2012 08:10 AM
Last post by HollyJolly
09-02-2013 08:30 AM
42,330 Views  6 Posts
» Recent Comments
Hot Cocoa or Hot Chocolate: A Matter of Taste
It's hard to find good writing now a days. But you have done a great job with all these sharing hot Cocoa and hot Chocolate. That's interesting. Thanks for sharing.
by Riccardo Vasquez on 04-04-2014 01:38 AM
The Best of Christmas Sitcoms
My top favorite Christmas Sitcoms: All from M*A*S*H , Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley. Step By Step - I'll Be Home For Christmas
by Minta on 04-01-2014 10:33 AM
His Name is Bud
love this story! Thanks for sharing your memories.
by Christmasstar on 04-01-2014 06:46 AM
The Best of Christmas Sitcoms
Here are my top 10: (in no particular order) All 3 M*A*S*H Christmas episodes they made: Dear Dad Dear Sis Death Takes a Holiday The Bob Newhart Show: His Busiest Time I'm Dreaming of a...
by Christmas-A-Holic on 03-26-2014 07:50 AM
Tips for Buying a Fresh Tree
I will do that fresh cut of the trunk.....that was my problem last Christmas.....the tree lost so many needles....even tho it was fresh....the problem was....since I didn´t cut the trunk....the tree...
by trackrebel on 03-24-2014 09:13 AM
» Christmas Library Stats
Christmas Library Statistics Categories: 31, Articles: 352, Posts: 134, Total Views 18,604,384