Members Area
Countdown to Christmas --
Visit My Merry Christmas on Facebook!   Visit My Merry Christmas on Twitter!   Get My Merry Christmas on RSS
Navigation » Merry Forums of My Merry Christmas > Christmas Library > Index > Christmas Culture > Christmas Movies » The Bishop's Wife (Movie Review)

Home Submit Article New in the Library What's Popular Search

» What's New
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by thechristmasmusicman
01-27-2014 10:42 AM
18,490 Views  4 Posts
santahat The Real History of the...
by MMC Editor
10-24-2013 12:44 PM
16,570 Views  0 Posts
santahat The Mistletoe Bough...
by MMC Editor
10-17-2013 06:19 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:04 AM
21,270 Views
2 Posts
Christmas Tree A Christmas Tree for Cats
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 08:21 AM
22,179 Views  0 Posts
Christmas Tree The Birds' Christmas...
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 06:59 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:12 AM
23,997 Views  1 Posts
» Random Entries
I Always Felt So Special
by MMC Editor
05-31-2002 09:20 PM
45,399 Views  0 Posts
"Christmas Every Day"...
by MerryCarey
10-28-2011 02:23 PM
65,847 Views  0 Posts
Christmas During the...
by MMC Editor
05-30-2002 03:32 PM
Last post by Isabella Euwins
08-03-2011 09:03 AM
63,023 Views  1 Posts
A Forgotten Classic:...
by MerryCarey
07-26-2011 08:06 AM
Last post by MerryBells
07-31-2011 06:14 PM
46,897 Views
2 Posts
Gift 2 Chestnuts
by Christmasstar
09-09-2013 07:30 AM
Last post by Meceka
09-18-2013 08:33 PM
10,662 Views  1 Posts
The Bishop's Wife (Movie Review)
Report to Moderator Old 06-09-2011 09:05 PM
MMC Editor
 
Views: 54,890
Replies: 0
By Jeff Westover



If only all prayers were answered so.

The story unfolds as an angel is sent in answer to a Bishop's prayer. The Bishop was praying for help in funding a new cathedral a task that so overwhelmed his life that he was beginning to neglect his wife and family. Naturally, the angel helps in ways unanticipated and unappreciated -- by the forlorn Bishop. What unfolds is a delightful tale of love, chivalry and holiday cheer.

The black and white film, crafted in 1947, stars Cary Grant as the angel, David Niven as the Bishop, and Loretta Young as the Bishop's Wife.

As the angel Dudley, Cary Grant seems from the outset to be somewhat miscast. But as the story develops this thought is erased as the angel seems to delight in turning the lives of those around him upside down and stirring up trouble between the Bishop and the Bishop's wife.

Where the Bishop does not have time to devote to his wife, due to pressing concerns with building the cathedral, Dudley has all the time in the world. In a series of heartwarming scenes depicting the holiday season in the most Rockwellesque ways, Dudley charms the Bishop's Wife into falling in love with him (how big of stretch is that for Cary Grant?), inciting a jealous fit by the Bishop.

This film includes a supporting cast of memorable characters who almost steal the film from the stars. James Gleason plays the cab driver Sylvester who mistakenly assumes that the Bishop's Wife and the angel are married. They embark on a delightful scene set in a snowy outdoor ice skating arena that has got to be one of the best holiday sets of all time.

Monty Woolley's role as Professor Wutheridge is often overlooked in reviews of this movie -- yet his scenes are the most poignant and usually the most funny. The character of Professor Wutheridge is the one piece that holds this movie and it's cast together and gives the film it's heart.

In a series of scenes depicting miracles performed by the angel, the famed Mitchell Boys Choir makes an appearance that will fill your screen with holiday magic. Cary Grant shed his miscast label in this scene. In fact, this role as the angel Dudley was one he campaigned for and anyone can see why from scenes such as this. (Know who else wanted the role of the angel? None other than the man playing the Bishop David Niven).

A 1996 attempt to remake the film by Penny Marshall was entitled "The Preacher's Wife". Drab and heartless, the remake does a dishonor to the 1947 holiday classic.

My advice: buy the classic and watch it about a dozen times between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Enjoy it by the fire, memorize every line. The lessons of this movie are obvious and much of what will transpire can be anticipated. But it is told with such charm and with such old world love of values, I never tire of it.
__________________
This article is copyrighted. Use of this article in part or whole is strictly prohibited. For reprint, quotation, or excerpt use please contact Merry Network LLC.



Tags: The Bishop's Wife
Send to Friend

Rate Article:



 
Category Jump
» Featured
Top Ten Christmas Videos...
by Jeff Westover
12-16-2013 08:10 AM
14,085 Views  0 Posts
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by thechristmasmusicman
01-27-2014 10:42 AM
18,490 Views  4 Posts
Annual Survey of...
by MMC Editor
09-16-2013 08:19 AM
Last post by icetene33
10-21-2013 04:04 PM
19,359 Views  2 Posts
Snowman2 Top Five Christmas Hoaxes
by MMC Editor
09-09-2013 02:14 PM
24,083 Views  0 Posts
stocking Santa Smoking: Why is...
by Jeff Westover
10-11-2012 08:10 AM
Last post by HollyJolly
09-02-2013 08:30 AM
42,375 Views  6 Posts
» Recent Comments
Hot Cocoa or Hot Chocolate: A Matter of Taste
It's hard to find good writing now a days. But you have done a great job with all these sharing hot Cocoa and hot Chocolate. That's interesting. Thanks for sharing.
by Riccardo Vasquez on 04-04-2014 01:38 AM
The Best of Christmas Sitcoms
My top favorite Christmas Sitcoms: All from M*A*S*H , Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley. Step By Step - I'll Be Home For Christmas
by Minta on 04-01-2014 10:33 AM
His Name is Bud
love this story! Thanks for sharing your memories.
by Christmasstar on 04-01-2014 06:46 AM
The Best of Christmas Sitcoms
Here are my top 10: (in no particular order) All 3 M*A*S*H Christmas episodes they made: Dear Dad Dear Sis Death Takes a Holiday The Bob Newhart Show: His Busiest Time I'm Dreaming of a...
by Christmas-A-Holic on 03-26-2014 07:50 AM
Tips for Buying a Fresh Tree
I will do that fresh cut of the trunk.....that was my problem last Christmas.....the tree lost so many needles....even tho it was fresh....the problem was....since I didn´t cut the trunk....the tree...
by trackrebel on 03-24-2014 09:13 AM
» Christmas Library Stats
Christmas Library Statistics Categories: 31, Articles: 352, Posts: 134, Total Views 18,629,447