Members Area
Countdown to Christmas --
Visit My Merry Christmas on Facebook!   Visit My Merry Christmas on Twitter!   Get My Merry Christmas on RSS
Navigation » Merry Forums of My Merry Christmas > Christmas Library > Index > Christmas Culture > Christmas Movies » The Santa Clause 2 (Movie Review)

My Merry Christmas Announcement

Home Submit Article New in the Library What's Popular Search

» What's New
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by holidaycraze12
05-24-2014 11:22 PM
29,114 Views  5 Posts
santahat The Real History of the...
by MMC Editor
10-24-2013 12:44 PM
25,654 Views  0 Posts
santahat The Mistletoe Bough...
by MMC Editor
10-17-2013 06:19 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:04 AM
36,227 Views
2 Posts
Christmas Tree A Christmas Tree for Cats
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 08:21 AM
40,740 Views  0 Posts
Christmas Tree The Birds' Christmas...
by MMC Editor
10-11-2013 06:59 AM
Last post by Virginia
10-30-2013 03:12 AM
41,003 Views  1 Posts
» Random Entries
Miracle on 34th Street...
by MMC Editor
06-09-2011 09:28 PM
51,642 Views  0 Posts
Real or Artificial?
by MMC Editor
06-02-2002 08:49 PM
46,070 Views  0 Posts
Tree Decorating
by MMC Editor
06-08-2002 09:18 PM
Last post by molepomandmistletoe
07-21-2013 10:44 AM
50,662 Views
1 Posts
My Little Lie
by MMC Editor
05-31-2002 09:07 PM
Last post by caninemomssister
12-23-2013 02:24 PM
55,950 Views
8 Posts
O Holy Night
by MMC Editor
06-09-2002 08:20 PM
62,403 Views  0 Posts
The Santa Clause 2 (Movie Review)
Report to Moderator Old 06-09-2011 09:11 PM
MMC Editor
 
Views: 62,218
Replies: 0
By B. Francis Morlan



It is a familiar story. For every kid's Christmas wish fulfilled there are just as many, if not more, stories of kids who tear at beautifully wrapped packages in great anticipation only to be disappointed with what is inside. The Santa Clause 2 is much like a white elephant Christmas present. It looked great under the tree, but it was best left unwrapped.

As a general rule, sequels rarely top the original. But when it comes to Christmas sequels especially, disappointment seems to be the best you can expect. We saw it in the Home Alone series. And this second Tim-Allen-as-Santa installment has all the earmarks of a franchise killer for Disney.

The movie is set eight years after the original. Tim Allen has settled nicely into his digs at the North Pole, happily playing chief engineer in a sea of elves who make all the toys for Christmas. The North Pole has certainly grown since we last caught a glimpse of it in the original. Santa's got high tech tracking systems with elves on computers. But, as the movie opens, we must endure a ridiculous sequence where oil exploration aircraft stumble upon a noisy Santa's workshop when all the high-tech wizardry of Tim Allen's Santa can't shut up the #2 Elf, named Curtis.

Several of the original cast are back. Eric Lloyd again plays Charlie, who is now a bitter teen with a chip on his shoulder. Wendy Crewson again plays Charlie's mother, although her diminished role leaves her little to do with the new storyline. And David Krumholtz is back as Elf Bernard, albeit well past puberty now and sporting the shadows of a face frequently in need of a razor. (What's an elf to do, eh?)

Santa finds himself in a fix when one elf informs him that Charlie has landed on the naughty list. Charlie, who lives most of the time with his mother, has been maliciously tagging his school grounds with anti-Christmas graffiti. Just as Santa readies to slip himself back into the role of Scott Calvin, along comes the shattering news that he has just 28 days left to get married -- or lose his contract as Santa Claus.

That premise alone could have made the movie a winner. But, as with all things Disney, that was just not enough. Somewhere in a writer's mind the thought passed that the movie needed more conflict and more spectacular flash. So, in a bit of absurdity written off as more North Pole magic, Santa creates a copy of himself using new technology not yet perfected by the annoying elf #2, Curtis. From that point forward, the movie is filled with obligatory cliches so familiar to films in desperate search of adoring fans.

They didn't need to try so hard. Santa's a winner by himself. And the first movie proved it.

Elizabeth Mitchell plays Tim Allen's eventual love interest. She is introduced as Charlie's tough-as-nails school principal with a heart of ice. After seeing Santa suffer the indignities of a blind date gone bad, it is clear that Scott Calvin has got the hots for her. So, using what little remaining Santa magic at his disposal, he woos her through exploiting her own bitter memories of losing faith in Santa as a child (a tired premise left over from the original that still works).

The original Santa Clause worked because we learned a lot more about Santa, the North Pole and the elves. We got a glimpse into that world -- a world where the bumbling comedy of Tim Allen seems so appropriate and funny. We were touched by seeing adults turned again into children and by seeing Santa shine in overcoming the grating, juvenile tendancies of a selfish Scott Calvin. Seeing is believing, as the original said.

But the sequel abandons that formula. Instead, Santa's twin is evil (of course). He raises a militant toy army (of course) bent on destroying Christmas (of course) and delivering coal to all the naughty children of the world (of course). We even have to endure scenes of coal tumbling down the assembly line of toys in Santa's workshop, overtaking them in a heap of dust and evil cackles. The Evil Santa dons a beret and scraps the red suit for a military style uniform to goose-step around the workshop. Just as every Disney movie needs a dysfunctional single-parent family (Cinderlla, Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, etc), every Disney movie also needs an evil villan.

Gone this time is the magic of the North Pole. Instead, we have reindeer with gas.

The one redeeming quality of the movie is the singular premise not pursued enough -- the Mrs. Clause. Elizabeth Mitchell shows a great transformation from a hard-nosed cynic to a princess who's heart has melted at the hands of an adoring Santa. As the credits roll, we see her far too late as a swinging, singing Mrs. Claus. It was an idea that remained undeveloped through out the film and an opportunity sorely missed.

Disney's original Santa Clause made a surprising $144 million at the box office in 1994. This will likely do twice that, if not more. It is squarely targeted at the teen set with its potty humor and obligatory chase scenes with the evil Santa. It sports a G-rating, perhaps in an attempt to capture a new generation of under age 10 fans and families.

But don't try to waste your kids' time. I took my six year old and my four year old. Both were bored to tears.
__________________
This article is copyrighted. Use of this article in part or whole is strictly prohibited. For reprint, quotation, or excerpt use please contact Merry Network LLC.



Tags: Santa Clause 2
Send to Friend

Rate Article:



 
Category Jump
» Featured
Top Ten Christmas Videos...
by Jeff Westover
12-16-2013 08:10 AM
15,324 Views  0 Posts
santahat Remember when Black...
by MMC Editor
11-12-2013 12:55 AM
Last post by holidaycraze12
05-24-2014 11:22 PM
29,114 Views  5 Posts
Annual Survey of...
by MMC Editor
09-16-2013 08:19 AM
Last post by icetene33
10-21-2013 04:04 PM
20,805 Views  2 Posts
Snowman2 Top Five Christmas Hoaxes
by MMC Editor
09-09-2013 02:14 PM
26,825 Views  0 Posts
stocking Santa Smoking: Why is...
by Jeff Westover
10-11-2012 08:10 AM
Last post by HollyJolly
09-02-2013 08:30 AM
44,603 Views  6 Posts
» Recent Comments
Christmas Vacation (Movie Review)
One of the best.
by Alnagon on 08-19-2014 10:38 PM
Year Round Christmas Music or Seasonal Only?
I vote for half a year. I get too depressed after Christmas to keep the music going, so I take a break from it, but always come back in the summer as I start gearing up for the next season. Like...
by MarthaK on 08-12-2014 10:02 AM
Year Round Christmas Music or Seasonal Only?
I listen to Christmas music year-round. Not every day, but here and there when the mood strikes me. It lifts my spirits and makes me happy....nothing wrong with that. I've just never understood...
by Ddeby on 08-12-2014 09:11 AM
How does Santa get down the chminey?
How will he enter the house if someone don't have chimney or fireplace??
by RDxmas on 07-07-2014 09:56 AM
Remember when Black Friday was on Friday?
I get annoyed when sales for black Friday start on thanksgiving. It's called black Friday not black Thursday.
by holidaycraze12 on 05-24-2014 11:22 PM
» Christmas Library Stats
Christmas Library Statistics Categories: 30, Articles: 337, Posts: 138, Total Views 17,925,713