Countdown to Christmas --
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fast and easy Christmas desserts

Discussion in 'Christmas Food' started by Fire_Goddess, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Fire_Goddess

Fire_Goddess Merry Forums Elf, 2nd Class MMC Premiere Member

I'm going to help out at a bake sale and host a Christmas party the same weekend (and possibly the same day). Any suggestions on easy desserts? I am a good cook and can make more complex recipes, but for this I want something with a short prep time (baking time does not matter).

Thanks.

2. Holiday

Holiday North Pole Resident MMC Lifer Christmas.com Alum

Pineapple Upside Down cake using red AND green maraschino cherries?

Pineapple Upside-down Cake

1/2 cup butter
    1 1/2 cups brown sugar
    1 (20 ounce) can sliced pineapple
    10 maraschino cherries
    1 (18.25 ounce) package white or yellow cake mix (mixed with pineapple juice in place of water)

Melt the butter over medium high heat in the iron skillet. (my biggest one works great – or can use a 9 x 13) Remove from the heat and sprinkle the brown sugar evenly to cover the butter. Next, arrange pineapple rings around the bottom of the pan, one layer deep. Place a maraschino cherry into the center of each pineapple ring. Prepare the cake mix as directed by the manufacturer, substitute the water for pineapple juice for some (all) of the liquid in the directions. Pour the batter over the pineapple layer.

Bake as directed by the cake mix directions. Cool for 10 minutes, then carefully turn out onto a plate. Do not let the cake cool too much or it will be stuck to the pan.

Fire_Goddess likes this.
  3. Holiday

Holiday North Pole Resident MMC Lifer Christmas.com Alum

Take a round pretzel & melt a Hershey Hug (or regular kiss) in the middle of it - bake at 250º for 5-10 min - press a red/green M & M in the middle of the kiss - let cool!

Chocolate Caramel Pretzels

Waffle Pretzels