Christmas MusicChristmas News

Steve Perry Releases I’ll Be Home for Christmas

Steve Perry has released a preview from his new Christmas album, The Season, due out in November. The Journey legend is going solo and leading out with I’ll Be Home for Christmas:

The album – Perry’s first full-length seasonal outing – is due out Nov. 5 on Fantasy Records.

“I hope when people hear this record, they’re teleported in the same way I was when I recorded all these songs – I hope it brings them back to those golden moments with their loved ones and gives them that feeling of joy and connection and comfort that we all need so much,” Perry says.

The album features eight tracks consisting of six Christmas tunes and two New Year’s Eve favorites. The songs are “The Christmas Song,” “I’ll Be Home For Christmas,” “Auld Lang Syne,” “Winter Wonderland,” What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve,” “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town,” “Silver Bells” and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.”

Perry is long removed from his days with the rock group Journey, from whom he split in the 1990s. While Journey has endured with legions of new fans who could recognize his distinctive voice anywhere this new solo album is quite the departure for those that know and love his style.

This is Perry’s 2nd album since 2018’s Traces. He was asked about coming back and said this: “I don’t know if its coming back into anything familiar because it seems like everything’s changed. I’ve changed, the world is different, the whole process is different — but somewhat the same, y’know, as far as trying to let people know that I have new music. But, it seems so different, y’know? It really does; we have an Internet now, we have downloading, we have streaming, we have not a lot of retail out there, and so now, more importantly that ever — and I feel personally good about this — it’s more about the music now, because of the change of the world than ever before.”

Steve Perry, ‘The Season’ Track Listing

  1. “The Christmas Song”
  2. “I’ll Be Home For Christmas”
  3. “Auld Lang Syne”
  4. “Winter Wonderland”
  5. “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve”
  6. “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”
  7. “Silver Bells”
  8. “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”
Long-time Christmas freak, first time expert. B. Francis Morlan has written for since 2013. He lives in Beaumont, Texas with his ...
No original songs? I thought everyone has to include at least one on their album.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.